The Irrational Atheist

A free E-BOOK has been made available on the topic of New Atheism. I love the approach of this book, and I love the sarcastic rhetoric of the author. I particularly like that the author is not really trying to argue for God, but is simply showing that these self-proclaimed “brights” are not that bright, after all. In his first chapter, he makes such a great point on why lots of believers are bothered with this new kind of Atheism:

‘All I ask, all the vast majority of the billions of people of faith on the planet ask, is to be left alone to believe what we choose to believe and live how we decide to live. But the Unholy Trinity have no intention of leaving me alone. Richard Dawkins accuses me of child abuse because I teach my children that God loves them even more than I do. Sam Harris declares that I should not be tolerated and suggests that it might be ethical to kill me in preemptive self-defense. Christopher Hitchens asserts that I am a form of human Drāno, poisoning everything I encounter.’ (“The Irrational Atheist”, p. 6.)

Exactly! Apologetics is not necessarily about convincing people that they should believe in Jesus Christ. Sometimes, it’s just about pointing out that we have the right to believe whatever we want! Thanks to Vox Day (that’s a funny name, btw) for writing this book and making it available to so many people.

Leave a Reply

